Wednesday, June 3, 2009

Sixty Years in Sixty Days,
A Whimsical Journey through the Chinese Zodiac

This series of sixty paintings was completed within a two month period using pastels and gouache. I am currently working to translate this work into a series of ceramic ware.

In Chinese astrology the zodiac of twelve animal signs represents twelve different types of personality. The sixty-year cycle consists of two separate cycles interacting with each other.

The first cycle is the Five Elements in order Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal, and Water.

The second is the cycle of the twelve Zodiac animal signs. They are in order as follows: rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, sheep/ram, monkey, rooster, dog, and boar/pig.

Year of the Earth Ox

No comments:

Post a Comment